Trying a New Bread: Garlic Rosemary

Just had to show off my first ever apron that my boyfriend got me for Christmas!

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be more adventurous with my cooking. For those who have read my blog, I tend toward simple, fail-safe pleasers like whole wheat sandwich bread and creamy vegetable soups. While those tickle my tastebuds just fine, it’s time I venture into peroigies, more elaborate breads, and exciting new cakes.

My first new recipe of the New Year is a rosemary garlic bread, nothing too fancy but a great bread to pair with a vegetable bean soup I’m making for dinner to warm the chill off the Boston air (9 degrees today!) The recipe is an adaptation from one I read on a sweet website called Good Life Eats. Here goes!

Ingredients (makes 2)

  • 2 cups warm tap water, about 110 degrees
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons (1 envelope) active dry yeast
  • 2 3/4 – 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup fresh rosemary, chopped or 4 tsp dried rosemary chopped
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 cup flour for dusting the loaves
  • 1 large cookie sheet

Put the water and sugar into a bowl and stir to dissolve. Add yeast and let sit for 3-5 minutes (to

Salt is in and about to add rosemary and garlic

bubble). Next add the white flour mixture (sifted) slowly stirring. I’ve always done it by hand, but using  a mixture is fine. Next add salt, rosemary, and garlic. 

From here you want to start slowly adding the whole wheat flour, which I did by sprinkling flour on the counter and slowly adding to the now balled dough. Add enough for it to become a dough ball. If it is still sticky after adding the flour, just add a little more until the consistency is right (though not too dry). Now lightly oil a bowl and put the dough in, flipping to coat the entire ball in oil. Let sit in a warm area until doubled (about an hour).

Rolled and ready for second round of proofing.

Once doubled, take out of bowl and beat down. Split into two pieces and knead for about 2 minutes each. Now form into balls and then roll them gently to elongate them. Set aside on a well oiled cookie sheet to double in size again (about another 45 minutes to an hour). Set the oven to 350 degrees.

Once the doughs are doubled, take a sharp knife and gently cut 3 lines along the top of the bread width wise (like the fancy bread you see in stores). Pop into the oven and let bake for about 40-45 minutes. Take out and let cool and then enjoy with your favorite bowl of soup or pasta dish!

NOTE

I know this may seem silly to write, but do not be intimated to make your own bread without the pan. Whenever I would see those artisan breads in bakeries with those beautifully nonchalant rounded shapes, I always wished I could do the same. Then I learned it was just the absence of a pan. Seriously, those artisan loaves were simply the

A fuzzy picture of the final product complete with veggie bean soup for dinner!

result of leaving out one step in the bread making process. Again, I know this may seem like a duh thing to most people, but for those who, like me, are teaching themselves recipes and how to cook via the internet, cookbooks, and lots and lots of mistakes (like forgetting to chop the rosemary(not the worst thing ever)), this might be a nice thing to read!

Anyway, get in kitchen and start enjoying that bread you’ll be baking! Happy eating!

 

One response to “Trying a New Bread: Garlic Rosemary

Leave a Reply

