Muffin Madness

Last Monday, I went a little overboard on the muffin baking. To be fair, I had some bananas that were getting ripe, and that means I had to make muffins, and one of my roommates accidentally overcooked her sweet potatoes and didn’t know what to do with them. So that meant I had to make muffins!

So I started out with the sweet potato muffins, and I decided to make them vegan. Luckily, veganizing (new verb) is not too difficult a feat since only two dairy items need replacing. Butter can be nature balance (yum!), and eggs, at least for muffins that already have a pureed fruit or vegetable, can be switched with a flaxseed/water mixture. Other replacements exist, but flaxseed offers a nutty flavor (which is good if you like that sort of thing), and it’s also pretty easy to replace.

As for the banana nut muffins, I opted to keep the recipe and not make it vegan. Now, to back track, I like to bake vegan things because the cholesterol is lower (and despite my size and activity level, I have terrible cholesterol), and I enjoy the added challenge of making something tasty without relying on conventional ingredients. So here are the two recipes.

Both start out with these ingredient needs:

1 1/2 cup all purpose flour (can switch out about 1/2 cup with whole wheat)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 egg (or 1 Tbsp ground flaxseed to 3 Tbsp hot water, stirred until viscous (i.e. sticky)).

pinch of salt

1/3 cup oil or butter

3/4 cup sugar

bigger pinch of cinnamon

3/4 cup mashed sweet potato OR

3 ripe bananas mashed

For banana muffins, heat oven to 375 F, and for the sweet potato muffins put oven at 350 F. Always mix wet in with the dry and beat until JUST mixed. Over mixing causes the muffins to be dense and flat. Anyway, grease muffin pan then plop a good-sized spoon full of dough in each pocket. Then put the pans in the oven for 20-25 minutes for either muffin recipe. Check after the 20 minute margin and poke with a toothpick or fork to see if cooked all the way through. If cooled, grab them out of the oven and set them somewhere on a towel to cool a little before poppin’ one in your mouth.

I’m eating one now, so they are still pretty tasty after a couple days. Enjoy! (pictures to come!)

3 responses to “Muffin Madness

  1. Yummmmm! I might have to try that banana recipe. I don’t really care for sweet potatoes and Addison can’t eat them. Haha. Yay baking!

  2. I???ê?ève browse via various of the critiques inside your internet site now. I truely enjoy the way you blog. I included it to one of my bookmarks and will also be coming back soon. Take a take a look at my personal internet website too and tell me what you feel about it.

Leave a Reply

